Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
News & Press: General News

Brennan Elected MPE 2019-2020 President

Thursday, April 4, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kelly Riley
Share |

Your MPE Board of Directors has elected its 2019-2020 officers:


  • President:  Lori Brennan, Literacy Curriculum Coordinator for the Ocean Springs School District
  • President-elect: Devin Walsh, a K-1 teacher at Oak Grove Primary School in Lamar County
  • Secretary-Treasurer:  Tamra Mills, Language Arts curriculum chair at Newton County Elementary
  • Past-President:  Cheryl Howard, a PreK inclusion teacher at Quitman County Elementary


We held our annual business meeting during last Saturday’s Best Practices Symposium.  Members elected for three-year terms to your Board of Directors are:


  • District 1:  Gennella Graham, an English teacher at Corinth High School Academic and Performing Arts Center.  She has been a member of MPE since 2013.
  • District 3:  Nicole Spinks, a kindergarten teacher at Bell Academy in the Cleveland School District.  She has been a member of MPE since 2010.
  • District 5:  Missy Bufkin, Federal Programs Director, Early Childhood, Curriculum and Gifted Coordinator for the Jones County School District. She has been a member of MPE since 2008.
  • District 7:  Amber Combs, school counselor at Franklin County Middle School.  She has been a member of MPE since 2011.


MPE thanks Dr. Brad Johns (Past-President), Lisa Williamson (District 1), Julie Burton (District 3) and Beckie Nieman (District 7) for their commitment and service to MPE, as they rotated off our board last Saturday. 


More than 300 educators joined us for last Saturday’s symposium.  It was a day filled with laughter, encouragement and learning.  Thanks to all who attended! 


If you left a scarf at symposium last Saturday, please contact our office (800-523-0269) and we will be happy to send it to you.