Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
News & Press: Legislative News

Senate Committee Assignments Announced

Friday, January 10, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kelly Riley
Share |

Lt. Governor Hosemann announced senate committee assignments for the new four-year term today.  Senator Dennis DeBar of Leakesville will serve as chairman of the Senate Education Committee.  Senator David Blount of Jackson will serve as vice-chairman.  Other committee members include senators:


  • Nicole Boyd of Oxford
  • Hob Bryan of Amory
  • Scott DeLano of Biloxi
  • Sally Doty of Brookhaven
  • Angela Hill of Picayune
  • Briggs Hopson of Vicksburg
  • Chris Johnson of Hattiesburg
  • David Jordan of Greenwood
  • Michael McLendon of Hernando
  • Chad McMahan of Guntown
  • Sollie Norwood of Jackson
  • John Polk of Hattiesburg
  • Brice Wiggins of Pascagoula


We look forward to working with Chairman DeBar, Vice-chairman Blount, and the rest of the Senate Education Committee. 


Senator Rita Parks of Corinth will chair Senate Universities and Colleges.  Senator Hopson will serve as chairman of Senate Appropriations, while Senator Josh Harkins of Flowood will chair Senate Finance. 


Today was a GOOD day for education and for our state!