Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
News & Press: NBCT News

NBCT Legislative Update (1/31/20)

Friday, January 31, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kelly Riley
Share |

The 2020 Regular Session of the Mississippi Legislature convened at noon on Tuesday, January 7.  These first few weeks have primarily been comprised of procedural and organizational matters.  Both the Senate and the House have selected its leadership, with Representative Philip Gunn of Clinton elected to a third term as Speaker of the House.  Jason White of West will serve as Speaker Pro Tempore of the House.  Lt. Governor Delbert Hosemann will preside over the Mississippi Senate, while Senator Dean Kirby of Pearl will serve as President Pro Tempore of that chamber.


National Board Certification legislation is traditionally considered by the Senate and House Education committees, as well as by the Senate and House Appropriations committees if the legislation has a fiscal impact.  It is important for you to know who serves on these committees, so this information is presented below for your reference.  You may find contact information for legislators at  You may leave a message for legislators with the capitol switchboard by calling 601-359-3770. 


Senator Dennis DeBar of Leakesville will serve as chairman of the Senate Education Committee for this new four-year term.  Senator David Blount of Jackson will serve as vice-chairman.  Chairman DeBar and Vice-chairman Blount both have strong records of supporting public education.  Other committee members include senators:


  • Nicole Boyd of Oxford
  • Hob Bryan of Amory
  • Scott DeLano of Biloxi
  • Sally Doty of Brookhaven
  • Angela Hill of Picayune
  • Briggs Hopson of Vicksburg
  • Chris Johnson of Hattiesburg
  • David Jordan of Greenwood
  • Michael McLendon of Hernando
  • Chad McMahan of Guntown
  • Sollie Norwood of Jackson
  • John Polk of Hattiesburg
  • Brice Wiggins of Pascagoula


Senator Briggs Hopson will chair Senate Appropriations, while Senator Josh Harkins of Flowood will chair Senate Finance. 


Rep. Richard Bennett of Long Beach will chair the House Education Committee again this term.  Rep. Kent McCarty of Hattiesburg will serve as vice-chair of the committee.  Other committee members include representatives:


  • Manly Barton of Moss Point
  • Randy Boyd of Mantachie
  • Charles Busby of Pascagoula
  • Larry Byrd of Petal
  • Alyce Clarke of Jackson
  • Angela Cockerham of Magnolia
  • Carolyn Crawford of Pass Christian
  • Sam Creekmore of New Albany
  • Clay Deweese of Oxford
  • Stephanie Foster of Raymond
  • Debra Gibbs of Jackson
  • Jeffrey Guice of Ocean Springs
  • Greg Holloway of Hazlehurst
  • Mac Huddleston of Pontotoc
  • Timmy Ladner of Poplarville
  • Vince Mangold of Lincoln County
  • Jay McKnight of Gulfport
  • Carl Mickens of Brooksville
  • Daryl Porter of Summit
  • Rob Roberson of Starkville
  • Rufus Straughter of Belzoni
  • Zakiya Summers of Jackson
  • Cheikh Taylor of Starkville
  • Kenneth Walker of Carthage
  • Jason White of West

Rep. John Read of Gautier will chair House Appropriations, while Rep. Trey Lamar of Senatobia will chair House Ways & Means. 


Lt. Governor Hosemann is upholding his campaign promise to address teacher pay.  SB 2001 was the first bill introduced in the Mississippi State Senate.  The legislation increases the starting pay for novice teachers (two years of experience and less) to $37,000, an increase of $1,110.  The bill provides a $1,000 increase via the salary schedule for all other teachers and increases the minimum salary of assistant teachers from $14,000 to $15,000.  While the $1,000 raise does not get salaries where they need to be, it is a step in the right direction, especially considering this is the first year of a four-year term and Lt. Governor Hosemann has repeatedly stated he intends to implement a multi-year pay increase plan.  Senate Education met yesterday and passed SB 2001.  The bill will be considered by the Senate Appropriations Committee early next week.    


Governor Tate Reeves has identified increasing the number of NBCTs in Mississippi as a priority for his administration.  While he has not released details of his plan for doing so, the MS NBCT Network stands ready to support his efforts.  As of earlier this week, Mississippi has 880 candidates pursuing certification, with statistics showing a much more diverse class of candidates.  We will keep you updated as to developments. 


Finally, our MS NBCT Network sent congratulatory letters to Mississippi’s 176 new NBCTs earlier this month.  We included a network application and encouraged them to join in our efforts to support and promote National Board Certification in our state.  Click here for the application if you would like to share it with an NBCT co-worker or friend.