Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join
News & Press: General News

Austin Honored as Mississippi’s 2020 Teacher of the Year

Friday, July 24, 2020   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kelly Riley
Share |

MDE’s Office of Teaching and Leading held a virtual ceremony yesterday afternoon to announce Mississippi’s 2020 Administrator of the Year and Teacher of the Year.  Congratulations to MPE member Ben Austin, 9th and 10th grade Social Studies teacher at Petal High School, for being selected as Mississippi’s 2020 Teacher of the Year!  Ben has been a member of MPE since 2016.  Mina Darnell of Clinton High School was honored as the Congressional District 2 Finalist for Teacher of the Year.  She joined MPE this past January.  Debra Houghton, principal of Mannsdale Upper Elementary in the Madison County School District, was selected as the 2020 Mississippi Administrator of the Year.